Aquifer Resources in Wallonia

Every year almost 420 million cubic metres of water are collected in Wallonia with almost 80% coming from the underground water table - the aquifers.

These have been well charted, and it is possible to estimate their total reserves with reasonable accuracy. They are, however, unevenly distributed below Wallonia.


Finding Water

Water is a natural gift from the clouds. It accumulates naturally in two ways, surface water and underground water.


Protecting Water

All human activity impacts on, and pollutes the environment. Water resources are more and more affected.

In line with the decisions of the Walloon Region, the water operators have taken a number of concrete steps to protect water collection sites: hydro-geological studies, establishing protective zones, purchasing land around collection points, development and careful management of green zones, strict and regular controls.

Protecting Water Resources involves their long-term management.


Water Treatment

Water, wherever it comes from, can only very rarely be allowed into the supply system without undergoing treatment. The underground water, which accounts for 80% of water collected in Wallonia must generally be aerated. In addition it is generally disinfected using a chlorine treatment for the bacteriological safety of the consumer. In some cases water has to undergo additional treatment to filter out particles of naturally-occurring elements such as iron and manganese. Nitrates are dealt with through special processes.

Surface water is more exposed to pollution and accordingly requires more elaborate purification. This takes place in several stages: passage through mesh filters, additive treatments, oxygenation, decantation, filtration and sterilisation.

Monitoring the Water Supply

Right from the collection points, strict controls exist at every stage of water production and supply.

Samples are sent for laboratory testing where they are registered and meticulously analysed. The laboratory equipment is at the leading edge of its technology. This allows the samples to be controlled to higher standards than those required by legislation. The slightest risk is instantly identified - allowing the competent services to act immediately.

Storing Supply Water

The demand for water varies during the day. In order to respond to consumer demand, treated water is stored in reservoirs and water towers. In addition to their reliability and security, these are now also planned to blend in with their surrounding landscape. In addition to their function of guaranteeing constant supply, these installations also provide the water pressure necessary for optimal consumer service.

Les ressources aquifères en Wallonie

Chaque année, près de 420 millions de m3 d’eau sont captés en Wallonie, dont quelque 80 % proviennent des nappes aquifères.
Celles-ci sont bien répertoriées et leurs réserves connues avec une bonne approximation.
Leurs potentialités sont très diverses.
Elles sont en outre situées dans le sous-sol wallon de manière inégale.

Rechercher l’eau

L’eau est un don du ciel. Elle se stocke naturellement sous deux formes : les eaux de surface et les eaux souterraines.

Protéger l’eau

Par toutes ses activités, par chacun de ses gestes, l’homme pollue l’environnement.

Les ressources en eau sont ainsi de plus en plus affectées.

En conformité avec les décisions de la Région wallonne, les opérateurs du secteur de l’ eau ont pris de nombreuses mesures concrètes pour protéger les prises d’eau: études hydrogéologiques, délimitation de périmètres de prévention, achat de terrains autour des zones de captage, création et gestion attentive d’espaces verts, surveillance sévère et régulière.

Protéger la ressource, c’est aussi la gérer à long terme.

Le traitement de l’eau

Quelle que soit leur provenance, il est rare que les eaux prélevées dans le milieu naturel puissent être distribuées sans traitement.

Les eaux souterraines, qui représentent 80% de l’eau captée en Wallonie, doivent être généralement soumises à une aération. En outre, elles sont aussi désinfectées par du chlore afin de garantir une bonne qualité bactériologique jusqu’au robinet du consommateur. Dans certains cas, ces eaux nécessitent des traitements complémentaires, surtout pour éliminer par filtration des éléments comme le fer ou le manganèse présents à l’état naturel dans l’eau. Les nitrates font l’objet d’une attention toute particulière.

Les eaux de surface sont les plus exposées à la pollution et nécessitent donc un traitement plus élaboré. Ce traitement exige plusieurs étapes : tamisage, addition de réactifs, floculation, décantation, filtration et stérilisation.

Contrôler l’eau

Depuis les points de captage, des contrôles stricts sont opérés tout au long de la filière de la production et de la distribution.

Les prélèvements sont envoyés dans des laboratoires. Ils y sont encodés et minutieusement analysés. L’équipement, à la pointe de la technologie, permet de contrôler la qualité de l’eau suivant des normes plus strictes que celles imposées par la législation. Le moindre risque de contamination de l’eau est ainsi immédiatement détecté, ce qui permet des interventions rapides des services d’exploitation.

Stocker l’eau

La demande en eau varie au cours de la journée. Afin de répondre en permanence aux besoins des consommateurs, on emmagasine l’eau dans des réservoirs et des châteaux d’eau. En plus des critères de fiabilité et de sécurité, ils sont également pensés pour être intégrés dans le paysage environnant. En dehors de leur fonction de régulation, ces ouvrages donnent à l’eau distribuée la pression nécessaire pour un service optimal.