TRAINING

The Minister for the Environment has set up two main training projects for young people interested in water-related skills - the "Water Polygon" and "Crescendeau".

  1. The " Water Polygon ", operated by the Walloon Water Company (SWDE) in Verviers, the capital of Walloon water, brings together the operators and services from the region's water industry.

    The " Water Polygon " comprises two main elements :
  • A Centre for Water Management, run by the SWDE, promotes and publicises water professions and publicises water-related environmental technology.
  • A Training Centre for water-related professional skills, run by FOREM, caters to companies and individuals active in the water sector, to job-seekers considering the water industry, to teachers and students from the technical and professional educational sector, and to young people approaching the end of their studies and heading towards the world of work. This project seeks to create a new structure capable of tackling the tasks devolved to skill centres, particularly in terms of training for the new technologies in this sector. Some 10 trainers are employed, providing full-time training to 50 trainees at a time, or some 300 workers, 50 job-seekers, and 100 students and educationalists annually.
  1. Crescendeau", backed by the University of Liege - brings together under one roof a research centre and a centre of water-related scientific expertise designed to meet the needs of both public operators and industry. The Walloon Region has thus at its disposal a scientific and technological tool to develop its qualitative and quantitative expertise of the whole water cycle, and develop its water industry - in response to the challenge of the European framework directive on water. The centre will be fully operational from mid-2004. It will have a staff of seven in its start-up phase, and eleven when fully operational.

RESEARCH

The Minister has invited the universities to work together in PIRENE (the programme for integrated research on water and the environment). Eighteen services from seven Walloon universities work with the Walloon political and administrative authorities, and the water operators, based in the environment pole of the University of Liege.

The aim is to develop a model for each sub-basin to provide real assistance and input to those managing the integrated water cycle. This is a European first.

FORMATION

Le Ministre de l’Environnement a mis en place deux projets majeurs pour la formation des jeunes aux métiers de l’eau.

  1. Le " Polygone de l’Eau ", proposé par la Société wallonne des Eaux (SWDE) vise à regrouper à Verviers, capitale wallonne de l’eau, un ensemble d’opérateurs et de services de la filière eau.

    Le " Polygone de l’eau " reposera en effet sur deux piliers :
  • Un Centre de gestion de l’Eau, animé par la SWDE, assurant à la fois la promotion et la diffusion des métiers de l’eau et la diffusion de la technologie environnementale de l’eau.
  • Un Centre de compétences aux métiers de l’eau, animé par le FOREM, au bénéfice des entreprises et travailleurs du secteur de l’eau, aux demandeurs d’emploi désireux de s’insérer dans cette filière professionnelle, aux professeurs et élèves de l’enseignement technique et professionnel et également aux jeunes en fin de cycle d’enseignement et en transition professionnelle. Le projet se fonde sur la construction d’une nouvelle structure, de sorte qu’il dispose des moyens et des outils nécessaires pour être à même de prendre en charge les diverses missions dévolues aux Centres de compétence, particulièrement au niveau de la formation aux nouvelles technologies du secteur. Quelques 10 formateurs y travailleront, formant en permanence 50 personnes, soit annuellement 300 travailleurs, 50 demandeurs d’emploi et 100 étudiants et enseignants.
  1. Crescendeau ", soutenu par l’Université de Liège, réunit, dans un bâtiment spécifique, un centre de recherche et d’expertise scientifique dans le domaine de l’eau, particulièrement orienté vers le service aux opérateurs publics et au monde industriel. La Région wallonne se dote ainsi d’un instrument scientifique et technologique lui permettant une maîtrise quantitative et qualitative de tout le cycle de l’eau, tout en veillant à développer une filière industrielle de l’eau, répondant aux enjeux de la Directive-cadre européenne sur l’eau. Le centre sera pleinement opérationnel à la mi-2004. Il occupera 7 personnes dans la phase de démarrage des activités, 11 à terme.

RECHERCHE

Le Ministre a également invité les universités à travailler en synergie dans PIRENE, Programme Intégré des Recherches en Environnement et en Eau. Dix-huit services universitaires de sept universités de wallonie travaillent avec les autorités politiques et administartives wallonnes et les opérateurs de l'eau, au départ du pôle environnement de l'université de Liège.

L'objectif est de modeliser chaque sous-bassin afin de pouvoir apporter une aide concrète à la gestion intégrée du cycle de l'eau. C'est une première en Europe.