Current Situation

With its current annual production of over 400 million cubic metres of drinking water, Wallonia produces over 55% of total Belgian water supply. One third of this production is exported to the other two Belgian regions, Brussels and Flanders.

In the past, water supply in Belgium was a public monopoly, usually handled by the local authority. These authorities discharged this responsibility directly through their own services, through a special agency established by the authority, or indirectly through a joint agency established with other authorities, or by granting a concession to an outside body.

Accordingly the water industry structure in Wallonia - inherited from the federal Belgian state - is something of a mosaic. The four main suppliers alone account for 84% of the 1,300,000 connected clients. The most important supplier is the Walloon Water Company (Swde) which supplies 55% of buildings. The other three main suppliers are: the Inter-Authority Liege Water Company (CILE - 17%), AQUASAMBRE (8%) and the Inter-Authority Water Agency for Central Brabant Wallon (IECBW - 4%). 75 other supply companies share the remaining 16% of the market.

Future Perspectives

The European Directive 2000/60/EC establishes a framework for a “community policy in the water sector” and plans, by 2015, to establish “a good state of surface, and underground, water systems”. The implementation of this directive requires significant changes in water management policies in each Member State.

In Wallonia, the consolidation or merger of water supply companies and agencies by hydrographic sub-basin (14 altogether) and the creation of a single water production company is under way.

The primary objective, within such a perspective, is to maintain a strong public structure made up of fewer supply operations, but of sufficient size to allow them to both face and overcome future challenges.

The final goal, naturally enough, is to supply each Walloon citizen with sufficient, quality water at a standard price. The current average price is 2.2€ per cubic metre.

A joint structure will be organised to provide for the strategic and operational relationships, and co-ordination, between these different supply operations and the new water production company. The establishment of such a structure is one element of the general plan for restructuring the water industry in Wallonia.

This proposal is included in the “Contract of the Future” adopted by the Walloon Government - although it has yet to be officially adopted and implemented.

Situation existante

Avec une production annuelle de plus de 400 millions de m3 d'eau potable, la Wallonie assure plus de 55% de la consommation d'eau en Belgique, toutes régions confondues. Un tiers de cette production est exporté vers la Région bruxelloise et vers la Flandre.

Historiquement, la distribution de l’eau en Belgique est un monopole public, de la compétence de la commune. Celle-ci assume cette mission soit directement grâce à un service communal ou à une régie communale, soit indirectement via une intercommunale ou une concession à un organisme tiers.

Pour cette raison, la configuration de la gestion des réseaux de distribution d’eau en Région wallonne, héritière de la politique de l’eau dans l’Etat fédéral belge, s’apparente à une mosaïque. Les quatre principaux distributeurs gèrent à eux seuls plus de 84 % du parc de raccordements de la Région wallonne, qui en compte 1.300.000 au total. Le plus important est la Société wallonne des eaux (SWDE), qui dessert plus de 55 % des immeubles; les autres étant la Compagnie Intercommunale Liégeoise des Eaux (CILE-17 %), AQUASAMBRE (8 %) et l’Intercommunale des Eaux du Centre du Brabant Wallon (IECBW-4 %). 75 autres sociétés de distribution se partagent les 16 % des raccordements restants.

Perspectives d'avenir

La directive européenne 2000/60/CE établissant un cadre "pour une politique communautaire dans le domaine de l'eau" vise à atteindre, en 2015, "un bon état des eaux de surface et des eaux souterraines". Sa mise en application implique des changements importants dans la gestion de l'eau dans chacun des Etats membres.

En Région wallonne, les fusions ou regroupements de sociétés de distribution d'eau (intercommunales ou régies) par sous-bassin hydrographique (14 au total) et la création d’une société unique de production sont d'actualité.

Dans une telle perspective, l'objectif prioritaire est de maintenir une structuration publique forte, composée d'un nombre plus réduit d'entités de distribution, mais de taille telle à pouvoir affronter et relever les défis futurs.

Le but final demeure bien entendu la fourniture à chaque citoyen de Wallonie d'une eau de qualité, en quantité suffisante et à un prix uniforme. Actuellement, le prix moyen du m3 d'eau est de 2,2 € HL.

Les relations stratégiques et opérationnelles entre ces nouvelles entités de distribution et la société de production unique seraient organisées et coordonnées au départ d'une structure commune, dont la création fait également partie du plan général de restructuration de la gestion de l'eau en Région wallonne.

Ce projet, s'il n'a pas encore reçu l'aval du Gouvernement wallon, s'inscrit clairement dans le Contrat d'Avenir qu'il a élaboré.